SAG Awards! Faves and Flops

I’ll admit I’m no expert. I’m one of those couch critics that just watches the red carpet show before the big awards ceremony. Maybe that makes me more of an expert than I thought! You know, because I don’t waste all my important opinions on the actual awards? Either way, here’s my two cents on last night’s SAG Awards, expert or no.

Big Yes to this Dress!

Ashlee Simpson in Jenny Packham


This, my friends, is my absolute favorite. Love the silhouette, love the color and sparkle, love the accessories. Brava, Miss Simpson. Brava.

Julianna Margulies in Calvin Klein


I usually am not a big fan of Julianna M’s style. Everyone loves this look from the Golden Globes a couple years ago but I just thought it was weird. And if she’s not wearing something like that, I feel like she’d be wearing velvet. However, this time, she hit the nail on the head. She’s not wearing black, there’s no weird sleeves, there’s interesting texture, and it hugs in all the right places. Simply gorgeous!

Jayma Mays in Reem Acra


I love how this dress just hugs all the way down. It’s got some flow to skirt but not so much that it looks frumpy. Keeping the silhouette simple makes the all-over sparkle really pop. The back is awesome, too! It has such an unexpected lace cutout. Love it!

Ariel Winter in Collette Dinnigan


I think this is a totally perfect choice for a young actress. It’s just unique enough to be interesting, but sweet enough to make sense for her.

Julie Bowen in Temperley


Keeping it going with the Modern Family hits, Julie Bowen shows up in this fabulous find from Temperley. I love the color (it was what my bridesmaids wore!) and those bejeweled details on her shoulder add just enough sparkle.

Emma Stone in Alexander McQueen


Just for something different, I have to applaud Emma Stone’s choice here. The whole thing is just perfection.

Honorable mentions:
Sophia Vergara in Marchesa
Viola Davis in Marchesa
Rose Byrne in Ellie Saab
Stacy Keibler in Marchesa (anyone noticing a trend?)
Kyra Sedgwick in Pucci
Amber Heard in Zac Posen

The Flops

Lea Michele in Versace


It’s not that I don’t like this dress. On the contrary, I think it’s a great color, very flattering, and a perfect fit for Lea Michele. It’s just so very annoying that Lea Michele consistently had her leg sticking out of it ALL NIGHT. I dare you to find a picture of her on the red carpet with that leg put away. I couldn’t do it. To me, that means one of two things: she was trying to get noticed using one awesome leg (read: cry for attention) or the dress just doesn’t look right without her gam sticking out. If that’s the case, this probably isn’t a great dress anyway.

Michelle Williams in Valentino


I’m going to get in trouble for this one. It seems to be a big hit with most of the fashion world. If you love this dress, stop reading because I’m about to ruin in it for you. I’m just warning you. The shoes are way too matchy-matchy, not to mention they remind me of the shoes I used to wear to prom. Second, the hem is just weird. It ends at the most awkward place; not quite above the ankle and not far enough below it. To make it worse, it’s slanted. I’ve seen that called unique by some, but it isn’t an elegant, gradual swoop like Dianna Agron’s. I think she could have done much better with just a longer hem.

Heather Morris in Masai Payan


Ew, Heather Morris. Don’t do this to yourself. Please realize that you have mixed short leather with curtain sheers and wore it out to an awards show. This is a look that only Madonna can pull off. Even then…

Kristen Wiig in Balenciaga


I think Kristen Wiig’s dress is fabulous. So why is she on my flop list? Well, because her choker is awful. That’s all.

Shailene Woodley in L'Wren Scott


The dress has a nice shape, but it reminds me of a swimsuit I had when I was 9. She could’ve made this a hit by wearing it in a bold solid color. I know I’m adding salt to the wound, here, but she needed to do something else with her hair. The low pony is what I wear when I vacuum my house.

And now for the absolute floppiest flop:

Busy Phillips in SIMONE


Let me start off by saying that I love Busy Phillips. She’s so hilarious on Cougar Town and has such a strong, fun personality that I love. However, this choice for the SAG Awards was awful. It’s not just that it isn’t my style, it’s actually an awful dress. I think cinching in at the waist is one thing, but when you have elastic three more times between there and the hem, you’ve done something wrong. The dress doesn’t do her curves justice and it’s simply way to casual for the red carpet. Also, I’m pretty sure I saw this dress on clearance at the mall once.

(Dis?)Honorable mentions:
Amber Riley in Badgley Mischka
Meryl Streep in Vivienne Westwood (Please never wear a giant brown leather belt around your waist to an awards show)
Jessica Chastain in Calvin Klein (Not bad, just boring)
Maria Menounos in Dolce&Gabbana

Any faves or flops I missed?

Leave a Reply

