The Unvalentine

It’s time for an Unvalentine’s Day. I’m not cynical about the day, don’t get me wrong, but I think it’s time to look at this whole celebration a little differently. I was inspired by this blog, which pumped me up! It kind of made me think, “Oh yeah! I’ve been so steeped in the hype I totally forgot about enjoying my life!”


It was a good reminder that I need to take a step back and have some love for lil’ ol’ me, too. Disclaimer: I am not trying to get out of loving and spoiling my husband! I love the man and I intend to treat him to the candy bar and foot rub he gets every year. But this year, I’m not going to forget that there are different types of love that everyone can celebrate, whether it be the love between friends, family, spouses, or the healthy love I have for myself.
Eliminate the whole misconception that this day is about couples. It’s not. It’s about love. It’s about caring about people and letting them know it. When is the last time you let yourself know that you love you?

So here is my to-do list. Use it for inspiration and then make your own:
-Give myself a pedicure (Yes, I will use the PedEgg. I’m not ashamed, it works!) Paint my toenails an unseasonably cheerful color

-Open my shades to let the sun in

-Brew a cup of tea in my adorable green teapot

-Plug my iPod in and turn on some of that fabulous 90’s music I miss. (Maybe “I Will Always Love You” in honor of the late Whitney Houston)

-Light a fresh and clean-smelling candle

-Cuddle up with my fabulous Dane, Toby

-Pop open a magazine that makes me feel creative

-Just love being me for an afternoon
What’s on your Unvalentine list?

Leave a Reply

